How I’m Reading Academic Journal

Somebody said to me before

You haven’t got your reading done unless your supervisor told you so.

I agree with that argument. Looking to the past, I’ve read more than 2,000 journals/paper (sure, it is 36 months of reading), but my supervisor didn’t stop me. Maybe he not satisfied with my findings, or he lost too. If he lost, resulted, you can’t graduate, even he can’t defend you when viva session. Seriously, if you face this problem, try to consult him in a good way to find the ultimate solution. Sometimes, faculty will assign another supervisor acting as mentor. In the worst case, they change the supervise power to another person.

Continue with Reading Academic Journal.

I’m trying several ways to read. You named it. Highlighting, stick on notes, ledger book, and several more (I forgot). This method is good if you don’t lose it, but I’m : the messy researcher, failed to follow. Worst case, when I read back, I didn’t know what I’m writing about (YY). Then somebody comes (from heaven maybe), and said, you should do this to ease your work.

How she saved me?

In word processing software you make 3 columns as below.

reading

In your own word fill each section.

Proposejot down what the paper (researcher) talking about

Pointsnote down the related issues/fact match your interest/research

Remarkscriticized the journal (really help in writing Literature Review)

The beginning of each section is your reference to that paper. In my cases, I’m using APA format. Query your supervisor, which format you should follow.

I just send this every day to my future supervisor (PhD) to show what I am doing. Normally, I read 5 to 8 journals per day. Even you could enclose it with your semester progress report (since in first semester, nobody has finished up their Literature Review chapter unless he is Einstein).

This is my way of reading to ease me later.

How about yours? I’m loved to hear it 🙂

Leave a Reply

